Nominations for Nanook Hall of Fame being accepted through April 30


Jamie Foland

The University of Alaska Fairbanks athletics department is accepting nominations for the Nanook Hall of Fame Class of 2013. All submissions are due by April 30 to be considered for induction.

Each submission will be reviewed by the nine-member volunteer selection committee of former student-athletes. Up to four inductees will be declared and honored as the sixth class of the Nanook Hall of Fame at the induction event on Saturday, Sept. 28.

Last fall, Jon Estle (cross country, skiing), Ellen Hannan (women’s basketball), Pavla Havlova (cross country, skiing) and Heather Harrison (volleyball) were inducted as the fifth class of the Nanook Hall of Fame.

The Nanook Hall of Fame was established on Jan. 9, 2008 to honor and preserve the memory of the men and women who, through their outstanding contributions both in intercollegiate athletics and community involvement, have brought honor and distinction to the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

It exists to recognize not only outstanding contributions of student-athletes but the contributions of coaches, administrators, athletic staff, community members and others who, in a positive way, have promoted the mission of the university and the Alaska Nanooks.

For a list of current members of the Nanook Hall of Fame, visit the Hall’s webpage on