Schnurr leads Alaska women on final day in Utah

 
Photo by Bert Boyer

Photo by Bert Boyer

Jamie Foland
474-6807

Senior Theresia Schnurr (Butheral, Germany/Biochemistry) had the fastest qualifying time for the Alaska Nanooks women’s ski team on Tuesday, leading three of her teammates into the quarterfinals in the 1.3-kilometer freestyle sprint heats at the U.S. Cross Country Championships in Soldier Hollow.

Schnurr had the 18th fastest qualifying time of three minutes and 6.77 seconds, while senior Marit Rjabov’s (Voru, Estonia/Psychology) was 24th and junior Alyson McPhetres (Chugiak, Alaska/Spanish and Geological Engineering) was 28th.

All three advanced to the quarterfinal heats, where Schnurr and McPhetres narrowly missed the chance to advance to the semifinals.

Senior Crystal Pitney (Fairbanks, Alaska/Business Administration) was just outside the top-30 in 32nd. After being kept out of the first three events due to illness, Alaska junior Raphaela Sieber (Vöhrenbach, Germany/Business Administration) recovered well enough to race Tuesday and finished fifth best for the Nanooks and 50th overall. Rounding out the team representatives was senior Heather Edic (Fairbanks, Alaska/Mechanical Engineering) in 61st.

The team will travel to Minneapolis, Minn. on Wednesday, where they will hold a short training camp before their next competition, the Tour de Twin Cities at Battle Creek in St. Paul on Jan. 19-20. They open the weekend with a five-kilometer individual start freestyle race on Saturday at 10 a.m. CST (7 a.m. AKST), followed by a 15 km mass start classic race o Sunday at 11:15 a.m. CST (8:15 a.m. AKST).
 

Tags:

 
 
 
 

Leave a reply

required

required

optional


 
 

UAF Events – Alaska Nanook & Athletics

 
 
 
 
 
 
Top