Beck named CCHA Postgame® Offensive Player of the Week

 
Photo by Paul McCarthy

Photo by Paul McCarthy

Jamie Foland
907-474-6807

Fairbanks, Alaska - Junior left wing Colton Beck (Surrey, B.C./Business Administration) was named the Central Collegiate Hockey Association’s Postgame® Offensive Player of the Week on Monday, following the Alaska Nanooks home series sweep of Northern Michigan.

Beck scored the short-handed game-winning goal and was the Perani Cup second star in a 2-1 win over NMU on Friday. The win snapped Alaska’s 16-game winless skid against the Wildcats for their first victory since Nov. 30, 2007.

He went on to score twice, including the game winner, and was the Perani Cup first star in a 4-2 victory on Saturday to complete the series sweep of the Wildcats, an unprecedented third consecutive in CCHA play for the program, and their first against NMU since Jan. 16-17, 2004.

An assistant captain this year for Alaska, Beck ranks sixth on the team offensively with seven goals and five assists good for 12 points in 24 games. In his career as a Nanook he has amassed 24-29–53 in 98 outings, fifth best among all Nanooks and second best in his class.

It is his first player of the week award but marks the third consecutive week that one or more Nanook has garnered a weekly conference honor and the eighth time this season.

The No. 20 Nanooks travel to Oxford, Ohio this weekend, when they will take on the fourth-ranked Miami RedHawks. Friday they face off at 3:35 p.m AKST (7:35 p.m. EST) and Saturday’s game is scheduled for 3:05 p.m. AKST (7:05 p.m. EST). Both games can be viewed live on KFXF Fox7 in Fairbanks.

 

Tags:

 
 
 
 

Leave a reply

required

required

optional


Alaska Nanooks & Athletic events

 
 

Archives